News

Back

Plymouth Reader Day

On Saturday 2nd March, Plymouth City Council’s Central Library throws its doors open to readers who want to meet professional writers.

Literature Works to host special day for readers in Plymouth Central Library

This event is part of Literature Works’ Read Write South West project, funded by Big Lottery, which aims to bring some of the best writers into communities around the South West.

Plymouth Central Library welcomes acclaimed novelists, Susanna Jones and Jane Feaver on Saturday 2nd March from 10am. This is event is organised by Literature Works and funded by Big Lottery.

10 -11pm: Writing Home 

Jane Feaver talks about the importance of place to her writing – in this case Devon – and the genesis of her most recent novel, An Inventory of Heaven.  She will address the process of composition, offering tips and insight to budding writers and readers alike, and will be available to answer related questions.

11-12pm: When Nights Were Cold – Reader Group Discussion 

Plymouth Reader Groups will have the chance to discuss Susanna Jones’ latest novel with the author herself. When Nights Were Cold is a gripping tale of ambition and rivalry, madness and revenge - in the vein of Sarah Waters and Beryl Bainbridge. This session is supported by Picador. 

1-2pm: The Writers’ Life – A Panel Discussion 

Join two of the UK’s celebrated novelists for a discussion on the ins and outs of writing. Whether you have burning questions about their writing processes, or want to find out more about the books they’ve written, this lively Q and A offers the perfect opportunity for literature lovers to talk to authors first hand. Featuring Susanna Jones and Jane Feaver. Books will be available to purchase.

About the Authors 

Susanna Jones grew up in Yorkshire and studied drama at London University. Her work has been translated into over twenty languages and has won the CWA John Creasey Dagger, a Betty Trask Award and the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize. She lives in Brighton. 

Jane Feaver was born in Durham and brought up in London.  For a dozen years she worked at publishers Faber and Faber before moving down to North Devon in 2001 to run the charity Farms for City Children. In 2008 her novel According to Ruth was published, and shortlisted for the Authors’ Club Best First Novel Award and the Dimplex Prize. Her collection of short stories, Love Me Tender (Harvill Secker/Vintage) was shortlisted for the Edge Hill Prize in 2010.  Her latest novel, An Inventory of Heaven, has just been published.  She is currently the Royal Literary Fund Fellow at Plymouth University.